

THE COMMONWEALTH OF MASSACHUSETTS COMMISSION ON THE STATUS OF WOMEN



FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Contact: Ellen Moorhouse, Communications and Marketing Director, MCSW Ellen.Moorhouse@mass.gov / (351) 220-8646

MA Women's Commission Announces the Commonwealth Heroine Class of 2023

Boston, Mass (May 18, 2023) - The Massachusetts Commission on the Status of Women (MCSW) will be celebrating the 20th Annual Commonwealth Heroines Class of 2023 on Friday, June 23, 2023, at the Massachusetts Statehouse in the Great Hall of Flags. Opening remarks will be made by MCSW Chairwoman Dr. Sarah Glenn-Smith, followed by a special recognition of all 125 honorees.

"The Commonwealth Heroines are women who don't make the news, but make all the difference in their communities," said MCSW Chairwoman Dr. Sarah Glenn-Smith. "Thousands of women in every community across the Commonwealth perform unheralded acts on a daily basis that make our homes, neighborhoods, cities, and towns better places to live. Commonwealth Heroines use their time, talent, spirit, and enthusiasm to enrich the lives of others in their community. They are mentors, volunteers, and innovators - they are the glue that keeps a community together."

Each year the Commission partners with state legislators to identify women who make outstanding contributions to their organizations and in their communities. Each legislator is encouraged to submit one woman from their constituency as a means of recognizing their invaluable efforts and extraordinary acts of service, who are making a big difference in their communities but not necessarily making the news.

We are proud to announce the following women as this year's Commonwealth Heroines Class of 2023 and look forward to publicly recognizing them at our event on Friday, June 23nd, 2023:

Melinda Alexander of Milton	Lee Blake of New Bedford
Amy Barrett of East Bridgewater	Mary Boyd of Bolton
Paulina Bastidas Yale of Revere	Lara Brait of Marshfield
Rosa Bentley of Lynn	Julie Beennan of North Easton
Anne Bergen of Franklin	Debora Bridges of Amherst
Karen Blais of Auburn	Franceana Brown of Springfield

Dr. Sarah Glenn-Smith Chairwoman

> Dr. Aisha Miller Vice-Chair

Christine Monska Secretary

> Nina Liang Treasurer

Tanisha Arena

Rebecca Bact

Carol Campbell

Divya Chaturvedi

Denella Clark

Guimel DeCarvalho

Marianne Fleckner

Jean Fox

Liz Friedman

Allison Goldberg

Audrey Hall

Leslie-Ann McGee

Kim Shea

Sonia Shah

Mary-dith Tuitt



Karen Buck of Malden Anne Marie Burns of Peabody Roberta Cameron of Medford Maritza Cedeno of Leominster Becky Coletta of Pembroke Gay Corey of Dracut Stephanie Crawford of Canton Mary Cringan of Fitchburg Maribel Cruz of Fitchburg Bridget Curley of Linwood Kristie Dean of West Bridgewater Norieliz DeJesus of Chelsea Justine DeOliveira of Edgartown Mary Dionne of Springfield Kathleen DiPasqua-Egan of Hanson Kathleen Dunn of Plymouth Terri Evans of Natick Julie Fenn of Lexington Maria Ferreira-Bedard of Fall River Donna Flannery of Spencer Joyce Flynn of South Yarmouth Erin Forbush of North Adams

Tracy Fuller of Haverhill Ellen Panarese Gibson of Newton

THE COMMONWEALTH OF MASSACHUSETTS COMMISSION ON THE STATUS OF WOMEN

Sandra Giroux of North Billerica Anabela Gomes of Brighton Barbara Govoni of Hampden Kavita M. Goyal of Andover Amanda Grow of Norwood Rev. Myrlande P. Guillaume-**DesRosiers** of Everett Heather Hamilton of Brookline Jeannie Hebert of Whitinsville Karen Hinds of East Falmouth Lisa Howard of Winthrop Janet Jameson of Watertown Shantell Jeter of Brighton Dr. Jacqueline Johnson of Springfield Kimberlee Johnson of Woburn Robin Jorgensen of Malden Kaye Kelly of Franklin Stella Ko of Acton Kathleen Kreatz of Medford Vedna Lacombe-Heywood of Plymouth

Lori LaFrance of Ipswich Chartis Langmaid Tebbetts of Cohasset

Erin LeBlanc of Millis

Diane Legg of Amesbury

Helen Lemoine of Framingham Amy Shelter Less of Newton Anika Lopes of Amherst Enilda Lovo of East Boston Katie Macdonald of Taunton Stephanie Marchetti of Ashburnham Lynn Margherio of Cambridge Jenn Martin of Waban Eileen Mathieu of Marblehead Shawna McCloskey of Andover Joan Medeiros of Fall River Christine Menard of Harwich Kristin Michel of Gloucester Wendy Mickel of Westborough Robin Joyce Miller of Mills Sherri Minch of Plainville Janice Mitchell of Holden Lili Mitchell of Ipswich Carla Monteiro of Dorchester Vivien Morris of Mattapan Julia Murphy of Boston Beth Murray of Shrewsbury Juliet Najjumba of Waltham Karen Nascembeni of Lynnfield







THE COMMONWEALTH OF MASSACHUSETTS COMMISSION ON THE STATUS OF WOMEN



3.6M NAME		Mary Steele of Norton
Heidi Nortonsmith of Northampton	Susan Riccio of Methuen	Kennedy Steiner of Beverly
Carolyn Panofsky of Rehoboth	Kecia Rideout of Lynn	Emily Teller of Westford
Maria Partida of Nantucket	Kris Rodolico of Melrose	
Michelle Pateras of Quincy	Anne Rousseau of Jamaica Plain	Stacey Thompson of Lowell
Liliana Patino of Lynn	Karen Rousseau, PhD, RN of	Alanna Thompson of Lakeville
Debra Peczka DiGiulio of Revere	Chicopee	Susan Trotta Clark of Milford
Carolyn Perkins of Groton	Sue Rushfirth of Sudbury	Erin Truex of Salem
Domenica Perrone of Worcester	Liz Sandemann of Medfield	Cynthia Villanueva of Framingham
Sharon Potter of Westport	Patricia Sanon of Brockton	Marissa Walsh of South Boston
-	Lori Scales of Attleboro	Susan Webb of Wellesley
Suzanne Ranieri of Bellingham	Fran Schofield of Brewster	Heather White of Westfield
Mary Redington of Berlin Patti Rego of Fall River	Jan Singer of Watertown	Jeanne Widmer of Belmont
Karen Riani of Holden	Lura Smith of Lowell	Susann Wilkinson of Somerville
April Ricci of Hyde Park	Christina St. Onge of Methuen	Alma Wright of Dorchester

The Massachusetts Commission on the Status of Women (MCSW) is an independent state agency legislatively created in 1998 to advance women of the Commonwealth to full equality in all areas of life and to promote their rights and opportunities. The MCSW provides a permanent, effective voice for the women of Massachusetts.

The MCSW invites all members of the community and all elected officials to attend and participate in our Commonwealth Heroines Celebration of the Class of 2023. The program book with bios of each Commonwealth Heroine will be available on our website for public viewing after the event concludes. For additional information regarding this event, please contact the MCSW at 617-626-6520 or email mcsw@mass.gov.

###

The Massachusetts Commission on the Status of Women (<u>MCSW</u>) is an independent state agency created in 1998 to provide a permanent, effective voice for women of the Commonwealth and to promote their rights, opportunities, and equality for all. Follow MCSW on <u>Facebook</u>, <u>Twitter</u>, <u>Instagram</u>, or <u>LinkedIn</u> to learn more and get engaged.