

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Media Contact: Kat Cline, MWPC Director kat@mwpc.org, 1-541-430-0641

MWPC 2023 WINNERS CIRCLE AWARDS WILL HONOR TOP BUSINESS, COMMUNITY, AND CIVIC LEADERS FOR ADVANCING POLICIES AND PROGRAMS TO EMPOWER WOMEN AND COMMUNITIES

MWPC Winners Circle will celebrate State Senator Lydia Edwards, State Representative Hannah Kane, Associated Industries of Massachusetts President Brooke Thomson, The Boston Foundation President and Chief Executive Officer M. Lee Pelton, and Beth Israel Lahey Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Chief Juan Fernando Lopera

> Monday, December 4, 2023 6:00 pm - 8:00 pm The UMass Club One Beacon St., 32nd floor

BOSTON—NOVEMBER 16, 2023 —The Massachusetts Women's Political Caucus (MWPC), a nonprofit, nonpartisan organization focused on electing more women to public office and policy making positions will honor a legislator and career activist advocating on behalf of society's most vulnerable; a Central MA legislator who co-chairs the bipartisan and bicameral Massachusetts Caucus of Women Legislators; the first woman president of the state's largest business trade association; the chief executive officer of one of the nation's most influential philanthropic foundations; and a healthcare leader transforming care delivery for the underserved at its premiere **Winners Circle Awards Ceremony on Monday, December 4, 2023 at the UMass Club, Boston.** "We are immensely proud to recognize leaders from across the Commonwealth's business, civic and government landscape. Each of them has demonstrated to be committed and inclusive change-agents and pathbreakers, creating opportunities that inspire and enhance our communities for ongoing success," said Gail Jackson-Blount, Chair of MWPC.

MWPC thanks our distinguished Winner's Circle Host Committee: Ann Murphy, Partner, Seven Letter; Lora Pellegrini, Past President and President & CEO, MAHP; Mike Caljouw, VP, BCBSMA; Suzanne Bump, Former State Auditor; Pamela Everhart, EVP Fidelity Investments; Jesse Mermell, President & CEO, deWit Impact Group; Rahsaan Hall, President & CEO, Urban League of Eastern Massachusetts; Pratt Wiley, President & CEO of The Partnership.

The support we receive through this annual event enables us to continue this important work of inspiring women for public office, helping them win while inspiring the next generation of leaders! Partial list of event sponsors include: Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts, Fidelity Investments, Massachusetts Association of Health Plans, Seven Letter/O'Neill & Associates, Takeda, The Partnership, and Dempsey Associates.

Kerry Kavanaugh, award-winning Anchor and Investigative Reporter at Boston 25 News will serve as Mistress of Ceremonies of the event.

Event sponsorships and tickets for the celebration are available at <u>www.mwpc.org</u>. Event proceeds will benefit the MWPC Education Fund, a 501C (3) which supports educational programming, outreach and operations.

MWPC will honor the following leaders at this year's Winners Circle Awards Ceremony:



M. Lee Pelton, The Boston Foundation

Lee Pelton is the CEO & President of The Boston Foundation, one of the nation's leading philanthropic organizations with \$1.8 billion in assets. He joined the Foundation in June 2021, after serving as President of Emerson College (2011-2021) and Willamette University (1998-2011).

In May 2023, he ranked #3 on Boston Magazine's annual list of the most influential people in Boston, following Maura Healey, the newly elected governor of the Commonwealth and Massachusetts Congresswoman Ayanna Pressley. Pelton has positioned The Boston Foundation, one of the nation's first and most influential community foundations, as an agent for social change by centering equity in its programs, grantmaking and civic leadership.



Brooke Thomson, Associated Industries of Massachusetts (AIM)

Brooke Thomson is the President of AIM and will also assume the role of CEO in January 2024. Prior to assuming the presidency, Brooke led the Government Affairs team where she was responsible for designing and advancing AIM's policy agenda and strengthening relationships with elected officials and business leaders on Beacon Hill and throughout the commonwealth – all the while ensuring that employer needs were represented at every level of the public policy-making process.

She has successfully expanded the progress AIM has made in diversifying its membership, reflecting the statewide business community needs and advancing policies that support both economic competitiveness and economic opportunity for the people of Massachusetts.



State Senator Lydia Edwards, (D-Third Suffolk)

Senator Lydia Edwards is a career advocate, activist, and voice on behalf of society's most vulnerable. She was raised all over the world by her military mom but chose to make East Boston her home.

Prior to being elected to the State Senate and Boston City Council, Lydia worked extensively in the legal field. She worked as a public interest attorney with Greater Boston Legal Services focusing on labor issues such as fighting for access to unemployment insurance, back wages, fair treatment for domestic workers, and combating human trafficking.

Additionally, she coordinated a statewide campaign to pass the Domestic Workers Bill of Rights - and she won. Following the bill's passage, she was named Bostonian of the Year, Honorable Mention, by the Boston Globe.



State Representative Hannah Kane (R-11th Worcester)

Hannah Kane (R – Shrewsbury) serves as the State Representative for the Eleventh Worcester District, representing the towns of Shrewsbury and Westborough, precinct 4, and was sworn in for her fifth term in January 2023.

Hannah graduated from Boston University's School of Management in 1993. Hannah is deeply committed to public service. Hannah serves as an elected Town Meeting Member for 20-years, President of the Shrewsbury Public Schools Foundation and a member of the Shrewsbury Coalition for Addiction Prevention and Education. Hannah serves in the 193rd Legislative Session as the Ranking Minority Member on the Joint Committee on Health Care Financing, on the Joint Committee on Public Health, and on the Joint Committee on Elder Affairs, and she is also a Member of the House Committee on Ethics. Hannah is Co-chair of the bipartisan and bicameral Massachusetts Caucus of Women Legislators.



Juan Fernando Lopera, Beth Israel Lahey Health

As Beth Israel Lahey Health's inaugural Chief Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Officer, Juan Fernando Lopera leads the system's efforts to transform care delivery for the underserved, while establishing diversity, equity and inclusion capabilities across the system. He is also responsible for the system's community benefits and community relations efforts.

Before joining BILH, Juan Fernando served as Vice President and Corporate Business Diversity Officer at Point32Health, where he led company-wide diversity, equity and inclusion initiatives and co-chaired the company's Anti-Racism Leadership Taskforce.

For additional Winners Circle Awards event information, contact MWPC Director Kat Cline at <u>kat@mwpc.org</u>.